Designer Denim Guide: The Perfect Jeans for Athletic Figures and Fuller Thighs

If you like this post and blog, check out our new website: Bridles and Baubles at www.bridlesandbaubles.com.

If you have wider thighs or muscular, athletic legs finding jeans can be a struggle but look for jeans that have a relaxed fit or wide legs that skim, not hug your legs. Jeans that have a slight flare offset the width at the hips, creating the appearance of more length. Trouser styles tend to work best for athletic figures. Shopbop has a great collection of wide-leg trousers at www.shopbop.com.

The best jeans to try for Athletic Figures and Fuller Thighs are:

7 For All Mankind The Trouser: Everything you could ever want in a trouser jean, the leg is straight at the hip providing a fluid casual feel that lends itself to pure comfort. Available at www.7forallmankind.com.

Paige Premium Denim Hidden Hills and Bentley: Hidden Hills is a classic well-fitting, higher rise jean available in a variety of leg widths (bootcut, skinny) and the Bentley is a higher rise wide leg jean that slims the leg. Available at www.paigeusa.com.

AG Jeans The Boyfriend: Rejoice for boyfriend jeans, their looser legs are the perfect and fashionable jeans for gals with wider thighs. They hug your body in all the right places and skim over the “not so great” places. AG Jeans makes the best boyfriends out there. Available at www.agjeans.com.

Joe’s Jeans The Best Friend: This is Joe’s take on an easy fit, relaxed hip and thigh with a slimmer leg opening that creates a fashionable look. Joe’s are known for their super soft, comfortable denim. Available at www.joesjeans.com.

Miss Me Bootcut Jeans: Miss Me makes premium, fashionable denim with a more forgiving fit than other designer denim brands, plus they carry extended sizes. They hug your legs without squeezing them and fit nicely around the waist. Look for the darker denim colors. Available at www.missme.com.

Another great trick to finding the perfect jeans for Athletic Figures and Fuller Thighs is to go up a size or two until they fit the way you want in the leg and thigh and then take them to a tailor to have the waist taken in so they fit perfectly. Sometimes you have to create the perfect jeans.

Click the links below to find the perfect jeans for your body type:

Designer Denim Guide: The Perfect Jeans For Tall Gals

Designer Denim Guide: The Perfect Jeans For Petite Gals

Designer Denim Guide: The Perfect Jeans For Slim or Straight Gals

Designer Denim Guide: The Perfect Jeans For A Flat Bottom

Designer Denim Guide: The Perfect Jeans For Curvy Gals

19 Comments

Filed under Business, Clothing, fashion, Fashion Fixes, How To Ideas, Jeans, Life, Must Have, Shopping

19 responses to “Designer Denim Guide: The Perfect Jeans for Athletic Figures and Fuller Thighs

  1. sherri

    It would be nice if the pictures actually showed a model with the heavier thighs so we could see how they will really fit.

  2. Esther

    I so agree! This model looks to be at least a size 2! She does not have big thighs! Ugh…

  3. clotheshorseok

    I agree that the models do not have big thighs but I did a tremendous amount of research and even had one of my friends who has athletic thighs and legs try all these brands on to see what works best. I also interviewed a friend who owns a denim store and these are the brands she recommends to women with athletic legs.

  4. Marian

    THANK you sooo much for your research! I just wish I had a neiman’s or Nordstrom’s nearby… I’ve ordered SOOO many pants and jeans online without success I try to only order from places where I can take them back so at least I don’t have to pay the postage both ways..

  5. Shelby

    I agree with the top most comment, I feel simply as though I can’t take the advise for athletic/thick legs and thighs when the models are still stick skinny. I don’t know about them, but my thighs touch all the way down to almost right above my knee and I am extreamly muscular.

  6. vlb

    I don’t agree with the trouser jean here but maybe its just me…it makes me feel larger than I am and I think it makes me look shorter and fatter…

    • I love trouser style jeans-they are the best flattering jeans for women who are thick-thighed. I like to buy ones that are slightly longer and wear heels-this gives more length to the legs and helps me to appear skinnier and taller. Try different brands…I like to go with the mid-rise-to just below waist waistbands as low-rise jeans with a shorter inseam will make you feel shorter and fatter. I hope this helps.

  7. Pingback: Designer Denim Guide: The Update | The Clotheshorse

  8. Pingback: Designer Denim Guide: The Perfect Jeans for Tall Gals | The Clotheshorse

  9. AC

    Thank you so very much for all of your research! I really appreciate the time you spent to compile both this list and the list for curvy jeans. This will save me soooo much time and heartbreak for when I go jeans shopping next. THANK YOU!!!!!!!

  10. clotheshorseok

    Thank You AC! Happy Shopping!

  11. Allison

    Thanks for giving the “athletic thigh” some attention. I have an additional problem, though: narrow hips. So, most of the styles mentioned in this post actually don’t fit me well because I get a lot of fabric collecting in the crotch area (it’s as though they’ve been made to accommodate male body parts). I would imagine that there are many other female athletes out there who have straight figures but who are also muscular. Do you have any recommendations for someone with narrow hips but athletic thighs?

  12. clotheshorseok

    Allison,
    Joe’s Jeans always fit nicely in the hips and crotch area. They don’t bag up in the crotch area like you mentioned. Check out Joe’s Jeans Icon Muse, a wider leg, higher waist jean that fits narrowly at the hips. You might also try AG Jeans The Angel (a great fitting bootcut) and The Belle (a fitted flare). AG always seems to have a little extra room in the thighs.
    Another option is to hop on to http://www.zafu.com and fill out their questionnaire and let them match you to the perfect jeans.
    Don’t forget you can always have jeans altered. Buy them so they fit perfectly in the thighs but have the waist and seat taken in to fit your narrow hips. Trust me, it is worth the extra expense to have tailor-made perfect jeans!

  13. AJ

    LMAO! Where’s these “fuller thighs” you’re talking about? All I see is skinny, anorexic looking girls…..

    • clotheshorseok

      AJ, Yes the models used above in the pictures do not have fuller thighs but the jeans they are modeling are cut fuller in the thigh than most jeans. I myself have fuller thighs and can vouch for every pair. I wish more companies would photograph more β€œnormal sized” women wearing their products but until we can get the fashion industry to change their ideals we will just have to judge what we buy on how it fits and looks on ourselves.

  14. clotheshorseok

    AJ, Yes the models used above in the pictures do not have fuller thighs but the jeans they are modeling are cut fuller in the thigh than most jeans. I myself have fuller thighs and can vouch for every pair. I wish more companies would photograph more “normal sized” women wearing their products but until we can get the fashion industry to change their ideals we will just have to judge what we buy on how it fits and looks on ourselves.

  15. I found the best jeans and very comfortable with larger muscled thighs – Calvin Klein Jeans: Authentic Blue Lean Bootcut Jean.
    They are comfortable and flattering. I highly recommend!

    LEH

  16. Aril

    $50 or $60 for a pair of jeans that fit me and last is ok. But $150 to $200 that is nuts. I would like to wear something that fits, and still be able to feed my kids.

Leave a Reply

