Dress Up

As the invitations keep rolling in, one thick creamy, calligraphy covered envelope after another I am reminded of the following scene from the hilarious movie Wedding Crashers:

Jeremy Grey: John? I need to see you right away. It’s important.
John Beckwith: [Walking into Jeremy’s office] What’s going on?
Jeremy Grey: [sighs] We got three big weeks ahead of us. It’s wedding season, kid!
John Beckwith: You sandbaggin’ son of a bitch!
Jeremy Grey: I’ve got us down for 17 of them already.
John Beckwith: Okay, now how many of them have cash bars?
Jeremy Grey: Great question. I like where your head’s at and two of them actually are, but I got us covered: Purple hearts. We won’t have to pay for a drink all night.
John Beckwith: Oh, yeah. Perfect.
Jeremy Grey: We are gonna have tons and tons of opportunities to meet gorgeous ladies that get so aroused at the thought of marriage that they’ll throw their inhibitions to the wind.
John Beckwith: And who will be there to catch them?
Jeremy Grey: Grab that net and catch that beautiful butterfly, pal! What do you like better, Christmas or Wedding Season?
[Jeremy raises his hand]
John Beckwith: Mr. Grey?
Jeremy Grey: Yes. The answer would be, um, Wedding Season?
[shimmy-shakes]

In the immortal words of Vince Vaughn it is indeed wedding season and I am thrilled. I love any excuse to buy lots of new dresses (I am a staunch believer that one should never wear the same dress to more than one wedding, that is at least the excuse I use to justify buying multiple dresses). Since I am probably not the only person receiving wedding invites I figured I would share some of my favorite websites for buying great dresses.

First and foremost I always take a peek at www.edressme.com, a whole website devoted to dresses of all kinds from casual to black tie and they even have a section on summer wedding guest dresses, how much easier can they make it. They carry great brands like BCBG, Anna Sui, Nicole Miller, Laundry, Rebecca Taylor, Nanette Lepore and Shoshanna and many more!

Next I usually type www.anthropologie.com into my address bar and get lost in the Alice In Wonderland feel of this amazing website and their whimsical clothing. They have a great selection of cool hippie chic dresses that just beg to be worn at a lush garden wedding or if you are lucky a exotic beach wedding.

To further indulge my dress shopping addiction I check out the great edited selection at www.shoptwigs.com. They really carry the best of the best of some amazing clothing lines.

When in doubt don’t forget to take a peek at www.shopbop.com, www.activeendeavors.com, www.nordstrom.com and www.jcrew.com.

PS If there is anybody out there looking for mother of the bride or mother of the groom dresses, I sympathize with you (having just worked my booty off to find my mom one for my own wedding in January), there is not much of a selection, they are either too frumpy or too sexy but check at www.barriepace.com, they have some great hip but still sophisticated dresses for MOB and MOG’s. Happy Shopping and Cheers, it is wedding season!

3 Comments

Filed under Clothing, fashion, Favorite Website, Must Have, Shopping

3 responses to “Dress Up

  1. I love Barrie Pace as well. I have purchased items for my mother on the site. I wish I had known about when I got married. We found something nice @ Filene’s … a few years back. I love the black and white dress.. very sassy!! ~Mix Maven~

  2. Great blog and nice clothes !
    Marina (from France)

  3. Thanks for recommending such great websites. I am all about cute dresses this summer. And I am in love with Hale Bob silk dresses: http://www.halebob.com/. My favorites to be featured on fffabulous.com soon;)

Leave a Reply

