Goin’ To The Chapel

My husband’s step-sister got married this weekend and on Friday night, the day before the wedding, I decided that I did not like the outfit I had put together. You know when you put an outfit together in your mind and then when you put it on, it just doesn’t work, well that is what happened to me! So first thing Saturday morning I headed to the mall to try and find the perfect outfit!

I hit all my usual favorite places with no luck and as I was strolling by Banana Republic’s window I noticed they had their new fall collection in and I figured I would go and have a look. As soon as I walked into Banana Republic, my husband (who has great taste, and no he is not gay) noticed “the dress”, it was a deep sapphire blue silk short sleeve mini dress. The minute I slipped it on, I knew this was what I was going to wear to the wedding. It was so soft and airy and perfect for a hot August night. The sapphire blue silk was the exact color of my eyes and the silhouette was funky and modern. I knew with the right accessories it would all work!

My new mission was to find the perfect shoes to set off the dress. After much shoe trying on and my husband’s exasperated looks I spied a pair of sky blue and silver Jimmy Choo d’orsay pumps. What is it about slipping into a pair of Jimmy Choo’s that makes you feel like Cinderella? That must be why they cost so much, great design + high quality materials + feeling like Cinderella = expensive. I knew these shoes would set of the dress beautifully and I was set. I added a fun necklace and sparkly bracelet and headed to the chapel to see someone else get married.

Oh and by the way, in case you were wondering the wedding was beautiful and the reception a blast! Dress available at www.bananarepublic.com and shoes available at www.saksfifthavenue.com.

5 Comments

Filed under Clothing, Dresses, fashion, Life, Shoes, Shopping

5 responses to “Goin’ To The Chapel

  1. allie

    And you looked fab!!! πŸ™‚

  2. Peggy (Allie's granny)

    Amanda, I LOVE your site!! You have such wonderful taste! Love the dress and shoes.

  3. Peggy (Allie's granny)

    Amanda, I love your site!!! You have such wonderful taste and style – love the dress and shoes!!

  4. I am curious about something. If you add a thick belt to this dress, would the dress work? (Not for a semi-formal look) Maybe a work or date look? What do you thing?

    ~Mix Maven~

  5. Oh by the way, I love the dress and shoe combo!!!

Leave a Reply

