Jumpsuits: Love’Em or Hate’Em

Awhile back I wrote a blog post about high waist jeans (High Waist Jeans: Love’Em or Hate’Em) and I received a huge response from my readers all voicing their opinions and it looks like the jumpsuit/romper/cat suit may be the high waist jean of this season. Jumpsuits, short and long versions, were all over the runways for spring and summer and have since popped up on the pages of every glossy fashion magazine as well as making appearances in retail stores.

My question is, what do you think? Are they cute? Trendy? Will you actually buy one and wear it in public? or Do you think they are silly? 

I suppose I fall into the latter category, as a fashion person I admire designers resurrecting old silhouettes and attempting to make them new and fresh to give shoppers something new to buy and wear, but I actually think they are just silly. They look great on models posing for fashion magazines and trendy celebrities wearing them to get attention but on an everyday person they just look silly. Could you really see a mom going to pick up her kids from school in a jumpsuit paired with a waist cinching belt, sky high heels and large sun hat or a professional woman wearing a jumpsuit to a board meeting asking people to take her seriously? I am not saying these women can’t look trendy and fashionable but a jumpsuit is so not the way to go.

Long jumpsuits have the unfortunate side effect of making your bottom look long and flat and shorter romper jumpsuits come off as very juvenile making them very hard for most people to wear. Plus they making going to the bathroom difficult, if you have ever wrestled in or out of a jumpsuit you know what I am talking about. I think they are going to be a short-lived one hit wonder especially in this economy when people are looking for more value for their money.

Let me know what you think? Love’Em or Hate’Em?

ShopBop has a created a category for jumpsuits and has a large selection:

9 Comments

Filed under Clothing, fashion, Shopping, Trends

9 responses to “Jumpsuits: Love’Em or Hate’Em

  1. JGS

    From a guys perspective, only a selcet few women could pull this off. If you have to wonder if you could do it… don’t try!

  2. Jumpsuits really nice. It really gonna be popular choice this summer.

  3. Barbara

    I have two pairs of high waist jeans. I LOVE THEM!! I can longer find them. Any suggestions?

  4. Marlyn Mason

    I’ve been looking forever for jeans that sit on the waist. It gives my figure shape and makes my long legs look even longer. I know them as Cigarette Pants (jeans)…WHERE CAN I BUY THEM? WHO IS SELLING THEM? HELP!!!!!!!!!

    THANKS MARLYN MASON from Oregon

  5. keyea

    I have a long torso and the mid-rise jeans hit me like low-rise jeans. I have even tried jeans that state that sit “slightly above the waist” and they still DON’T come up to my waist!! I am in my late forties and CANNOT stand muffin top.

    • Mary Anne

      Keyea,
      I couldn’t agree more. I have been looking for over a year for jeans that sit at my waist -meaning the bottom of the wasitband sits at my waist. Womens pants used to fit like this. Then I guess the youth movement took over and now it is fashionable to have your belly buttton hanging out. I’m sorry there is a growing population of baby boomers out there that should not have their belly buttons showing. Give us back our regular cut pants!!!

      • Kat

        I agree with you Keyea 100%.
        I have bought so many pairs of jeans in hopes that they would fit at the waist and look decent—only to be dissapointed. I guess the the secondhand stores sure love me because I have given away probably a good 60 pairs of new lowrise crappy jeans. I as an older woman certainly don’t want to look like a 16 yr old kid with belly hanging over the top of her jeans. Guess I’ll have to go back to making my own clothing again. Sure wish all the stretch and lowrise stuff would dissapear and go back to how jeans used to fit.

  6. clotheshorseok

    Kat,
    I did a post a while back of my three favorite mid-rise and higher rise designer denim jeans. You can read the post by clicking here:
    https://clotheshorseok.wordpress.com/2010/10/11/higher-ground/

    Also, J Jill has some great fitting jeans with a higher rise.

Leave a Reply

