Gap’s New Denim-Worth Trying?

Gap has been getting a lot of press lately on its new totally re-vamped line of jeans for guys and gals and since I am a bit of a denim aficionado I figured I better get my denim-clad behind to the nearest Gap and try them all on and see if they are worth the hype. So last night I drug my husband to the mall and we tried on jeans for what seemed like hours (okay it was only an hour but he swears it was longer).

I can honestly say overall I was impressed with the collection for the price which is insanely reasonable ($69.50-$59.50). The denim used was super soft on all styles and washes and the construction was of good quality. What was even more amazing was that for the most part I wore the same size in every style and wash, which is usually not the case with designer denim. I would highly recommend heading to Gap to try them all on, they make perfect knocking around on the weekend jeans. I will always be a designer denim fan but I can now say I have two new pairs of Gap jeans sharing closet space with my AG’s, Seven’s, Joe’s and Citizen’s. My husband also loved the jeans he tried on and we bought 4 pairs of jeans for the price of one pair of designer jeans.

Here is the “lowdown” on each style:

The Perfect Boot:

Gap’s Description: Our perfect boot jean shares all the best qualities of our sexy boot jean, like a contoured waistband that shapes to the body, lifts the seat, and eliminates the gap at the back of the waist. We added a slightly higher rise with a wide waistband that gives a low rise look while providing extra coverage.

My Description: Overall a nice jean, the rise hit right at the bottom of my belly button, fitted through the thigh with a slight flare, although they did gap around my waist, worth trying if you despise low rise jeans.

The Sexy Boot:

Gap’s Description: We’ve redesigned our low rise boot cut jean. The low-rise fit keeps it sexy and we’ve added a contoured waistband that shapes to the body, lifts the seat, and eliminates the gap at the back of the waist. A slim fit through the hip and thigh leads to a perfectly proportioned boot-cut leg, creating a leg-lengthening silhouette.

My Description: My least favorite pair of jeans I tried on, the rise hit in a weird too low spot with a strange angle and the thighs were too tight with a more severe flare at the leg, it also flattened and squushed my bottom, designer denim brands do the “sexy” boot style much better.

Real Straight:

Gap’s Description: Our real straight jeans are cut straight through the hip and leg for a slimming look. An improved design gives the appearance of longer, more slender legs. New fit technology lifts the seat and eliminates the gap at the back.

My Description: My absolute favorite pair I tried on and one of the pairs I bought. The fit is amazing and for a skinny jean they are very comfortable, snug in all the right places but with great ease and stretch. The leg is straight without being too skinny and makes your legs look longer and slimmer. The rise is perfect not too low or too high. Just Perfect!

Long and Lean:

Gap’s Description: We’ve kept what you love about our long and lean jeans–the easy fit and wider leg–while improving the construction for a more flattering fit. Smart design updates lift the seat, slim the hips, and lengthen the legs.

My Description: My second favorite pair of jeans I tried on and the other pair I purchased. It is the perfect super casual, laid back pair of jeans. Excellent updated fit that hits right below the belly button, fits nicely around the waist, fitted through the thigh without giving sausage thigh with a wider proportion balancing leg. They really give you the appearance of having long and lean legs. A great jean for gals of all heights and sizes.

Always Skinny:

Gap’s Description: Our new skinny jean has a very slim, fitted silhouette all the way to the ankle that visually elongates the entire body. Our new design lifts the seat while eliminating the gap in back.

My Description: These jeans were just okay, super skinny and tight in all sizes with an uncomfortable too low rise with not quite enough stretch to hold you in properly. If you like super skinny jeans stick with the higher-end designers like J Brand, they do a better job of constructing this hard to fit style. For a straighter, skinny look stick with the Real Straight style.

My husband tried on Gap’s Standard, Boot and Loose styles and loved the Standard (buying two pairs). The Standard is a great all around jean, good fit with some ease that could be casual or dressy. He thought the Loose fit was too loose and sloppy and he did not like the construction the Boot style thinking designer brands like Chip & Pepper, Kasil and AG do a better job.

Gap’s Men’s Standard Jean:

1 Comment

Filed under Business, Clothing, fashion, Jeans, Life, Shopping

One response to “Gap’s New Denim-Worth Trying?

Leave a Reply

