Romance Novel Hair

So, I have pretty much entered crazy town when I actually paid over a $100 for a shampoo. I have been wanting to try Philip B’s Russian Amber Imperial Shampoo ever since Lucky Magazine’s Beauty Editor raved on and on about how amazing it was, swearing it gives everyone who uses it the best hair day ever no matter what type of hair you have. Vogue also convinced me to try it when they said it “gives you the hair of a heroine in a romance novel – the hair you always dreamed of…”.

Now I know beauty editors get paid (in money and products) to say whatever to sell stuff but this time I really believed them and so wanted to try the shampoo, but at $140 a tub I was in no hurry to buy it. Lucky for me, Lucky Magazine announced a special sale on it on their Facebook page and my hot little hands clicked on to Philip B’s website and ordered a tub at 40% off (I still paid about $95 for the shampoo when you figure in shipping).

Here is what Russian Imperial Amber Shampoo is all about according to the Philip B website:

We call this the Fountain of Youth for hair: Our reconstructing shampoo rejuvenates and revitalizes all hair types, giving even chemically-damaged strands a dramatically youthful look, feel and radiance from the first use. The power-packed formula truly heals on all fronts: Eleven life-giving L-Amino acids at active strengths repair hair on a cellular level — quickly restoring its body, bounce and shine. An extraordinarily high dose of Panthenol (Vitamin B5) coupled with a catalyst, Phytantriol, sinks moisture deep into every strand. An artful, Russian-inspired blend of Chamomile, Grape Seed, Rosemary, Nettle, Burdock and Sage infuses hair with emollients for a healthy gleam-from-within. Protective Silk, Wheat and Soy Proteins increase elasticity and tensile strength. And Shea Butter imparts a finishing touch of weightless hydration for beautiful, long-lasting bounce and resilience.

Here is what I think about the product:

First of all it smells beyond amazing, a warm buttery amber scent that smells so good you could eat it! It leaves your hair smelling incredibly good all day long. My hair seemed very soft and full of volume all day (I have short, fine, straight hair). But in all honesty it really did not feel any different (other than having more volume without using a volumizer product) than when I use shampoo from Moroccan Oil or Ojon (great shampoos at a much cheaper price).

As far as the negatives, it has a carmel like consistency that is hard to get out of the tub and spread in your hair to lather. Because it comes in a tub, you have to be really careful using it so you don’t lose any from your hands as you are screwing the lid on. Overall, I am still not sure it is worth $140 but I will gladly keep using it until it runs out and then decide if I can spring for another!

Philip B’s Russian Amber Imperial Shampoo available online at www.philipb.com.

2 Comments

Filed under Beauty, fashion, Loving, Shopping

2 responses to “Romance Novel Hair

  1. This stuff is now being sold at Beauty 360 (a high-end beauty shop associated with/adjacent to CVS/pharmacy that also carries Vincent Longo and the like). I was waaaay skeptical when I saw the price, and I appreciate your honest review because I am very curious about the product.

    I had a question- you mentioned use of MoroccanOil. Would you say that line did anything for your hair in terms of growth? I’ve been trying to grow mine down to princess length but I can’t seem to get past the collarbone.

    • clotheshorseok

      I love Moroccan Oil! I actually use on my horse to help grow his tail longer as well as make it thicker. I have been using it since October and it has definitely added inches to his tail.

Leave a Reply

