High Volume

I have blogged before about various products I have used to gain full volume in my very straight, very fine hair and for the most part no product has worked perfectly in helping me achieve the high volume I crave. I am always on the lookout for new products that promise thicker, fuller hair. I recently tried Living Proof’s Full Thickening Cream and Hold Flexible Hairspray.

A little background on Living Proof: The company was founded by Polaris Venture Partners, one of the most successful venture capital firms in the world, and a team of scientists, including Dr. Bob Langer, an institute professor at MIT and one of history’s most prolific investors in medicine. This world-class ensemble allows Living Proof to look at everyday concerns from a completely unique, fresh perspective and thus create beauty products from a very scientific standpoint.

I figured if anybody could figure out how to give hair oumph, it would be MIT scientists, plus they had rave reviews with their line of No Frizz products.

Full Thickening Cream allows thin, fine hair to act like thick hair by depositing thickening points on hair strands, creating a thicker surface that enables fine hair to have natural movement and bounce, beautiful shape, and volume throughout the day. It has a creamy, non sticky texture that you run through your hair while wet and then style with a blow dryer. It did give my hair significant lift while maintaining shine and softness but toward the end of the day it started to fall and felt a little sticky. All in all not bad and certainly better than any other volumizers I have used before.

After styling my hair using the Full Thickening Cream I spritzed it with Hold Flexible Hairspray. Hold Flexible Hairspray is supposed to give amazing hold, add shine, block humidity and protect your style. I must say it did do all those things, but after a few sprays you won’t be able to run your fingers through your hair. It made my hair very sticky and hard, but held my cropped bob in place. It is the perfect product for creating female news anchor helmut hair but not necessarily for me, I will stick with L’Oreal Elnett Hairspray.

If you seek rich, voluminous hair then I would suggest buying the travel size of Living Proof’s Full Thickening Cream but leave the Hold Flexible Hairspray on the shelf. Both available at www.sephora.com.

1 Comment

Filed under Beauty, Business, fashion, Fashion Fixes, How To Ideas, Shopping

One response to “High Volume

  1. I love volume – will have to try.

Leave a Reply

