Purple People-Eater

Not sure exactly what is a “Purple People-Eater”, other than something I remember hearing about in a song during my childhood and has just stuck with me. This phrase popped back into my head yesterday when I was undressing and noticed that my black shirt had turned my arms, back and shoulders and nice shade of bluish-purple. The black dye must not have been properly set and rubbed off on me.

After a quick scrub in the tub to wash away the “Purple People-Eater” look I was now sporting, I hopped on the net and googled “how to set dye”. I remembered something about setting dye with vinegar in one of my textile classes in college but couldn’t remember all the details. I also dearly loved this black top (super soft, scoop-neck tunic that looks amazing with skinny black pants and jeans) and wanted it to survive dye setting intact and ready to wear again, minus the purple rub off.

Sure enough, I was right about using vinegar to set dye in clothing. Just soak your garment for a few minutes in a sink of cold water and one cup of white distilled vinegar. Then throw the garment in the washing machine set on cold and delicate/hand wash. Voila, no more “Purple People-Eater”!

PS: The vinegar soak also works wonders on dark blue denim jeans to set the color keeping them extra dark and from rubbing off their color on everything you wear with them.

You can also purchase the song “Purple People-Eater” on itunes!

Preparing to soak:



Leave a comment

Filed under Cheap Trick, Clothing, fashion, Fashion Fixes, How To Ideas, Jeans, Straight From The Horse's Mouth, Tees

Leave a Reply

