Fashion Wishes 2012

Happy New Year! I can’t believe another year has come and gone! This new year has got me reflecting on the past and future of fashion and I have a few fashion wishes for the new year. Just a few items and trends that I wish would change in the upcoming year.

Number 1: Goodbye mile-high, platform stripper shoes. Hello ladylike heels. Manolo Blahnik happens to agree with me too!

Dainty is Divine

Number 2: Designer Collaborations: I am just so over the much-hyped designer collaborations which often produces inferior, cheap clothes (priced higher then their quality even suggests due to the designer’s name). You’re not fooling anyone, everyone knows you bought that Missoni sweater at Target or that Karl Lagerfeld dress at Macy’s. Plus, half the stuff shows up on e-bay.

Karl Lagerfeld’s Collection for Macy’s was the worst!

Number 3: Real Housewives Hair/Kardashian Hair: You know the type, long fake waves of hair cascading down overly-tanned shoulders. The look is totally unoriginal and no one should aspire to look like any of these women. Jennifer Aniston’s bob and Emma Watson’s cut just look fresher and more unique.

Just Say No!

Better:

Number 4: This last fashion wish is sadly just a pipe dream but maybe someday designers, editors and photographers will learn to embrace the female form and stop using overly-skinny anorexic models and instead learn to design clothes that fit a wider range of shapes and sizes thus celebrating women. I am not talking about just plus-sized models but models that wear a size 6, 8 or 10, average size.

What are your fashion wishes for 2012? New Trends? Old Trends?

1 Comment

Filed under Clothing, fashion, Life, Shopping, Straight From The Horse's Mouth, Trends

One response to “Fashion Wishes 2012

  1. Joanna Lea

    I love this post! I totally agree with you on ALL wishes! Those shoes look like a birthday surprise with candy on top, as for the Karl…he irritates me with his arrogance, and The REAL housewives are nothing real…I have always admired Jennifer A’s hair and Emma inspired me to cut my long locks all off just a few months ago..eeeek..(who knew I wouldn’t look just like her). Hahahaha! Your number 4 wish has been a constant wish and conundrum of the fashion buyers vs. the fashion designers for as long as the sun has shone…but we can keep wishing I guess. :0)

    Have a nice weekend!

    Joanna
    http://www.khamillion.com

Leave a Reply

