The Long and Short Of It

Summer is here and I will be the first to admit that summer is by far not my favorite season (the heat, the humidity, the bugs, you get the point). But I survive by reaching for comfy, casual ensembles to get me by until I can reach for my favorite sweaters again.

This summer I am loving the casual combo of a loose button-down shirt paired with shorts. The button-down shirt is loose and easy allowing for good air flow while also providing arm coverage and the shorts can show off your ability to correctly use self-tanner. It’s a win, win. Steal a button-down out of your hubby’s closet and throw on with your favorite pair of denim or chino shorts.

Just a quick word on shorts: If you don’t like showing your legs (or more probable, your thighs) then opt for a longer length that hits above the knee, just keep them more fitted to avoid looking frumpy. However, if you go shorter, say mid-thigh length, look for styles that are a bit wider at the bottom. It will provide an optical illusion making your thighs look thinner.

Loving these looks from Current/Elliott and Hive and Honey available at Piperlime.

Doesn’t this combo look so cute on Tory Burch!

Leave a comment

Filed under Clothing, fashion, Fashion Fixes, How To Ideas, Shopping

Leave a comment