Beauty and The Beast: Soak It Up

If the hot, dry summer air has left your skin parched and looking to soak up some serious moisture consider adding these to your daily beauty arsenal. These are my favorite tried and true products to banish dry skin.

For The Body:

Kiehl’s Creme de Corps Soy Milk and Honey Whipped Body Butter: Luxuriously Whipped, Sinfully Addictive. This air-whipped confection is light-weight and absorbs quickly to deliver deep, all day moisture. It banishes dry spots and keeps rough areas like knees and elbows soft. Plus, it smells amazing! Available at Kiehls.com.

For Your Hands:

My hands take a beating in the barn on a daily basis and Kiehl’s Ultimate Strength Hand Salve is my saving grace. This blend of select ingredients allows skin to actually draw and absorb water from the air, forming a “glove-like” protective barrier against moisture loss. It also contains a blend of botanical oils as well as natural wax derived from Olive Oil,  which further soothes, moisturizes and conditions skin. This lotion protects against and repairs the appearance of severe dryness caused by heavy industrial work, manual labor, neglect, or exposure to harsh elements. Applied nightly it keeps my hands soft and smooth despite my barn work. Available at Kiehls.com.

For The Lips:

Being out in the elements combined with being inside with cold, blowing air from my air conditioner makes my lips demand all day moisture. Neosporin Lip Help Daily Hydration Therapy and L’Oreal’s Color Riche Balm are my go-to lip savers.

Neosporin Lip Help is clinically proven to restore visibly healthy lips in 3 days by reducing dryness and protecting lips from sunburn with SPF 20. I apply it morning and night and my lips have weathered this year better than ever. I use L’Oreal’s Balm during the day (I keep a tube in my tack room to re-apply before and after riding) to keep my lips constantly hydrated with a tint of color. Both available at your local drugstore and Target stores.

For Your Horse:

Dry, summer air, sweat and constant rinsing can have the same affect on your horse as it does on you, but adding a hair coat shine supplement to their daily feed regimen will have him shining like a new copper penny. My horse Woody is on Smartpak’s SmartCombo pellets which includes their SmartShine supplement. SmartShine provides vital Omega 3 Fatty Acids from stabilized Flax Seed to promote healthy skin and create a stunning coat. This supplement really, truly works. I get constant compliments on how shiny and healthy Woody’s coat looks. Available at Smartpak.com.

Woody’s shiny hair courtesy of SmartShine:

Keep their mane and tail soft and dandruff free with an oldie but goodie, Mane N Tail Conditioner. I have tried them all and I go back to this one every time. It keeps my horse’s hair soft, tangle-free and it truly helps grow tails thicker and longer. It is my go-to super product. Available at your local tack store.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty, Beauty and The Beast, Equestrian Chic, fashion, Horses, How To Ideas, Life

Leave a comment